It Begins: Beautiful New Furniture!

I don’t remember the first time I saw a Saarinen tulip table, but I know I’ve wanted one just about forever.  I hate clutter, so Eero Saarinen was a man after my own heart, once stating his intentions in designing the tulip collection thusly: “The undercarriage of chairs and tables in a typical interior makes an ugly, confusing, unrestful world. I wanted to clear up the slum of legs.”

Image

Also, entertaining is literally my favorite thing to do in the whole world.  So a couple of months ago when my husband and I finally had the space and were ready to buy our first grown-up furniture, we set our hearts on a big, marble-topped tulip table around which to gather all our friends.  We picked Bertoia-style wire chairs to go with it, because tulip chairs felt like too much and I love how little visual space the wire chairs occupy.

TableChairs3

Love, love, love our happy new dining space.

Leave a Reply

